New Covid-19 quarantine rules in South Korea

The Korea Disease Control and Prevention Agency has updated its quarantine rules, reports Japan Club.

The high risk countries have been changed with Russia, Philippines, the UK, South Africa, France, Bangladesh, Pakistan and India already designated as high-risk.

Added to this list are France, as of 4 March 2021, Bangladesh (removed on February 8th 2021 and added back on April 16th 2021), Pakistan, added on April 23rd 2021, India added of April 24th 2021

Removed are Kyrgyzstan (as of February 8th 2021) and Nepal (as of March 25th 2021).

If PCR negative certificates are not submitted, jail time of up to a year and a fine of up to KRW10m (about $8,950) per person can be imposed.

As of April 7th 2021, if a non-valid PCR negative certificate is submitted, a fine of KRW1m per crew member will be imposed.

The local correspondent in South Korea has said that PCR certificates are not restricted to the country of embarking port. However, Japan Club noted that there was no official document mentioning this updates.

For crews who embark in the high-risk countries, PCR negative certificates must be issued by the designated facilities.