Border treaty between Indonesia and Singapore ratified

Standard Club has issued a web alert notifying members that on December 15th 2016 Indonesia’s Parliament passed a bill ratifying the Treaty between the Republic of Indonesia and the Republic of Singapore relating to the Delimitation of the Territorial Seas of the Two Countries in the Eastern Part of the Strait of Singapore which was signed in 2014.

When the treaty comes into force it will demarcate a border covering 5.1 nautical miles in the eastern part of the Strait of Singapore. The 2014 Treaty and two earlier treaties demarcate 67.3 km of the sea border in the Singapore Strait.